.
Like &
Share

KCRW's Second Opinion

  1. When journalists get it wrong2018/04/22

    Reporting failure often results from neglecting to look under the rocks and ask the tough questions.
  2. It's time to start to change some of the silly rules in health care2018/04/15

    Everyone’s opinions count, but leaders need to be motivated to change the status quo
  3. Sex trafficking2018/04/08

    A group of people being missed by health professionals.
  4. Out of hospital cardiac arrest2018/04/01

    We could be doing much better – but it takes a village
  5. Early teenage drinking2018/03/25

    An early start to any type of substance abuse can often be a warning sign.
  6. White coats against gun violence2018/03/18

    Millennials are our reason for hope.
  7. The health of the world's adolescents2018/03/11

    Intervening to improve the health of this vulnerable population will have big payoffs as they transition to becoming tomorrow’s adults.
  8. Limitations of antidepressant medications2018/03/04

    An important illness with several options for treatment.
  9. How do we get the doctors we need?2018/02/25

    Requiring a year or two of community service.
  10. Working when sick2018/02/18

    Perhaps it is time for a change in the culture of medicine – if not for doctors then for the sake of patients.
  11. Paying doctors to keep costs low2018/02/11

    Paying doctors to change their behavior works, but it often has unintended consequences.
  12. Just because we do the surgery doesn't mean it works2018/02/04

    Despite being used thousands of times a year for decades, an innovative study shows shoulder surgery is not effective.
  13. Karla's trip home2018/01/28

    A medical student goes home to care for a sick family member.
  14. Conversations around Pain2018/01/21

    A delicate dance -- with no leading partner.
  15. Influenza: 20182018/01/14

    We certainly could do much better with our approach to the flu.
  16. Brain death2018/01/07

    How our eyes can deceives us.
  17. A chance meeting2017/12/31

    A social dance between doctor and patient
  18. Abstinence only education2017/12/24

    A collective federal amnesia
  19. Bigger is not better2017/12/17

    Bigger now even starts with bigger baby bottles.
  20. New national recommendations for blood pressure control2017/12/10

    These new recommendations are overly aggressive and difficult to recommend to people who have no other risk factors for heart disease or stroke.
  21. Are there health benefits from a daily drink of alcohol?2017/12/03

    The data on the health benefits from a daily drink is weak and conflicted.
  22. Medical conditions resulting in unsafe driving2017/11/26

    Doctors have a conflicted role as patient advocate and as a steward of the public's well-being.
  23. Regret in medicine2017/11/19

    Regret over actions we could have/should have/would have done -- can be painful.
  24. A forgotten population with a life threatening disease2017/11/12

    In poor countries with dry climates kidney disease is killing thousands and we have no idea why.
  25. Hospital vampires2017/11/05

    When we draw too much blood in the hospital there is a real cost.
Second Opinion
http://www.kcrw.com/news-culture/shows/second-opinion
An examination of medical ethics and the practioners who define them. Dr. Michael Wilkes is a Professor of Medicine and Vice Dean for Medical Education at UC Davis. He takes on the pharmaceutical and health insurance industries and raises the issues that people face head-on when making medical decisions.

radyo dinle aşı takvimi podcast tips blog video blog kongre online dinle peaceful videos music videos blog klip şarkı sözü lyrics videos ilahi ezgi dinle